Top Cowboys Honored At Football Banquet

The Oklahoma State football team held its annual Senior Football Banquet on Sunday night at the Wes Watkins Center to honor the 20 seniors from the 2012 squad.

Those seniors include Isaiah Anderson, *Cooper Bassett, Yves Batoba, *Brodrick Brown, Dejuan Davis, Alex Elkins, Colby Ellis, Evan Epstein, Tyler Fields, *Wes Harlan, Maurice Hayes, *Justin Horton, Jarid King, Andrae May, *Nigel Nicholas, *David Paulsen, Ryan Robinson, Jonathan Rush, *Quinn Sharp, and *Lane Taylor. (The asterisk indicates a four-year letter winner.)

Evan Epstein spoke for the senior class and head coach Mike Gundy addressed each of the seniors with a personal message.

The award winners, decided by the coaches, were also presented for the 2012 season. Here are the awards and the winners announced Sunday night.

L.L. Boger Award for Academic Achievement: Isaiah Anderson, WR, Sr., Wichita Falls, Texas

Barry Sanders Award for contributors taking little credit: Wes Harlan, H, Sr., Houston, Texas, and Ryan Robinson, DE, Sr., Buford, Ga./Jones C.C., Miss.

Vernon Grant Award for Spirit and Enthusiasm: J.W. Walsh, QB, Fr., Denton, Texas (49 carries for 277 yds and 7 TDs; 104-of-156-3, 1,478 yds, 11 TDs), and Cooper Bassett, DE, Sr., Tuttle, Okla. (17-3-20 tackles, 2 tfl, 1 def. 3 QB hurries)

Russell Okung Award for Outstanding NewcomerL Austin Hays, WR, Fr., San Antonio, Texas (25 receptions for 369 yds, 2 TDs), and Calvin Barnett, DT, Jr., Tulsa, Okla./Navarro J.C., Texas (23-6-29 tackles, 7.5 tfl, 1 sack, 1 break up, 4 QB hurries)

Thurman Thomas Award for Offensive MVP: Josh Stewart, WR, So., Denton, Texas (7 carries for 99 yds, 1 TD; 96 rec. for 1,154 yds, 7 TDs)

Leslie O'Neal Award for Defensive MVP: Caleb Lavey, LB, Jr., Celina, Texas (43-8-51 tackles, 6.5 tfl, 1 sack, 1 ff, 1 QB hurry)

Special Teams Award: Quinn Sharp, K/P, Sr., Mansfield, Texas (25-of-31 FGs, long 51 yds, 92 kickoffs, 67 touchbacks, 41 punts, 45.9 avg.)

Bob Fenimore Awards for Team MVPs

Joe Randle, RB, Jr., Wichita, Kan. (257 carries for 1,351 yds, 14 TDs; 28 rec. for 224 yds; 1-for-1 passing 36 yds)
Shaun Lewis, LB, Jr., Houston, Texas (48-8-56 tackles, 7.5 tfl, 2.5 sacks, 4 break ups, 4 QB hurries, 1 fr, 1 ff)

2012 Oklahoma State Football Captains
Joseph Randle
Cooper Bassett
Quinn Sharp
Lane Taylor
Calvin Barnett Recommended Stories

  • Peyton Manning emerged alone atop yet another category in the NFL record book tonight vs the Niners, as he tossed touchdown #509 under the national spotlight of Sunday Night Football (NBC). (Photo…

  • Former USC and NFL running back LenDale White added tons of drama to what was a relatively quiet Homecoming weekend for the Trojans.

  • Here’s a way to watch football and improve your golf swing at the same time. In your living room (or on the range), practice the one-minute golf swing, as shown in this video. Set the timer on your…

  • Dr. Roto, like many others, can't believe Seattle Seahawks QB Russell Wilson (pictured above) passed for over 300 yards and rushed for over 100 yards in the same game. First time that's ever happened…

  • As soon as those winds fall off, get into the stand! I always tell people you can't kill them if you aren't out, but if you want to try and pick an opportune time – this is it.

Up Next